RSS

Looking back on 2012, looking forward to 2013

12 Jan

Welcome to 2013! It’s been a long and strange road for me since I started actively blogging about television last year. I don’t usually like to draw too much attention to everything I do all at once, but in advance of any new blog posts going up here on Wayward Television (including the first Victorious review of 2013, where I’ll talk about the sadistic “Brain Squeezers”), I wanted to look back at pieces I wrote on other websites and reflect a bit on the past six months.

I say “six months” because the piece that really activated me into more active blogging was the discussion piece I co-wrote with Cory Barker for Test Pilot on the pilot episode of The Incredible Hulk back in June of 2012. I felt really good as I put together that piece, and it stirred something in my brain that made me attempt a more regular blogging schedule. Thus, The Signpost was born here on this site, as a means of attempting shorter-than-average reviewcaps of episodes of television that I watched for the duration of the summer.

Not long afterward, This Was TV was created; two months later, I began writing for the site, reviewing Disney Channel’s So Weird with the partial purpose of opening up discussion on networks like Disney Channel and Nickelodeon beyond nostalgic purposes. This will continue in 2013 until I finish all 65 episodes of the show; by then, I’m sure I’ll have come up with another topic to contribute to the site.

And for both Cory’s blog TV Surveillance and for This Was TV, I’ve contributed to a number of roundtable discussions. First was the Detectives Roundtable over at This Was TV, where we examined detective shows from years past, with an eye on mixed-gender pairings, from the Harts in Hart to Hart all the way to Mulder and Scully in The X-Files, with a stop by Remington Steele and Moonlighting for the classics. Towards the end of 2012, Cory Barker got a bunch of us involved in a multi-part roundtable discussion over on TV Surveillance about the year in television. These are currently dominating the front page of TV Surveillance; you can read our latest musings as we look forward to 2013 as well. Lastly, I’m a regular nominator for This Was TV’s Hall of Fame; you can read all of those here.

Looking forward, 2013 promises to be even more exciting for me. I’m constantly re-evaluating what I know about television and how we watch it, so there will definitely be more big-picture posts here. I’ll see Victorious through to the end, and while I’m at it, I may finalize my thoughts on iCarly‘s series finale as well. And there’s plenty more of me on the horizon too, so for now I’ll just say: Happy Belated New Year, and thanks for reading!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 12, 2013 in About The Blog

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comment here

 
